About Herbert

Herbert is one of 150 House of Representatives electorates in the Parliament of Australia.

It covers an area of 946 kilometre2 within the city of Townsville and was named after Sir Robert Herbert (1831-1905), the first Premier of Queensland. Herbert was proclaimed in 1901 and is one of 75 Federation electorates that made up the first Australian Parliament.

The electorate stretches west from the CBD of Townsville to Douglas and up to the Northern Beaches suburbs. This covers the Defence base at Lavarack Barracks, James Cook University, as well as Magnetic Island and Palm Island.

Major industries operating in Townsville include the copper, nickel and zinc refineries; tourism; education; and the Defence forces. The Port of Townsville is also a key part of the local economy.